20 years since the release of their debut album and 20 million worldwide sales later, US hard rock titans Godsmack are an even stronger than before. The proof is in the grooves of their first studio outing in four years, When Legends Rise (available to pre-order here), due out on April 27th via Spinefarm Records.


When Legends Rise follows the success of 2014’s 1,000 HP, which entered the Top Billboard 200 chart at #3, with two #1 debuts (Billboard Top Alternative Albums, Billboard Top Hard Rock Albums). The band’s seventh studio album, was recorded at their headquarters (GSHQ) in Derry, New Hampshire, and produced by Erik Ron and Sully Erna. Sonically intense and layered, it pushes the band forward, kicking off with the title track which begins with tribal-style drums and lethal riffs.

The new album speaks to the band and our journey. It’s been an amazing road we have travelled through all the ups and downs. But being able to conquer those challenging times with alcohol and egos and everything else that can tear a band apart is what we are the most proud of. To be able to stand strong again and do it better than we ever have. It’s about burning it down and building it back up. It’s the Phoenix rising from the ashes,” says off the new record Godsmack’s singer Sully Erna.


First single, Bulletproof, shows the band doubling down on their combination of tightly wound riffs, rhythmic fury, naked emotions and pushed-to-the-edge vocals, all fired up with melodic precision and tight songcraft.

I always write about things that have affected me on an emotional level. If I choose to do that, I have to be prepared to be honest and vulnerable and so the challenge is figuring out how ‘exposed’ you want to be with personal information. But I’ve also learnt over the years that, for me, being transparent, even to the point of embarrassment sometimes, is so much better than holding it inside and extending that pain longer than you need to. Bulletproof is just another moment in my life when I allowed myself to be vulnerable and got hurt. It’s this kind of carelessness from other people that eventually hardens you and forces you to put up that wall to protect yourself. So when and if they circle back around and try to get back in, you make yourself bulletproof,” comments Erna.

Godsmack will perform at a series of US festivals this spring / summer, followed by a major outdoor amphitheatre tour, then a return to the UK & Europe later in 2018.

Tracklist of the album is as follows:
01. When Legends Rise
02. Bulletproof
03. Unforgettable
04. Every Part Of Me
05. Take It To The Edge
06. Under Your Scars
07. Someday
08. Just One Time
09. Say My Name
10. Let It Out
11. Eye Of The Storm

More info: